Mare Nostrum: FAQ - edition updated 2003-02-09

Set-up

Q: It's marked up in the FAQ that with less than 5 players, you may do as you wish (although you're recommended to take certain civilisations instead of other). In the example with 3, it's said that it's best to discard Rome and Egypt. The card of the Military Leader by default attributed to the player who hasn't got a role, when Rome isn't in play?
A:
You have to respect the number possessions for each power: if the Egyptian isn't there, it's Greece who gets the Political Leader as he has two cities and the other only have one. If it's equal, you draw it among the other two who hasn't got any power. On the other hand, you cannot in any case give two powers to the same player! 

Q : On the player aid of Cleopatra it's indicated that you may place a caravan of "cattle", but there isn't any influence marker in this region.
A :
There is an error on the player aid. Cleopatra may place a caravan on the Papyrus in his capital, as well as on "grain". 

Commerce phase

Q : Must the number of cards per player be known by all the other players?
A :
Yes. It's one of the privileges of the Director of Commerce to be able to choose a number of cards for exchange, so that some of the players aren't able to participate in the phase. 

Q : May you change tax cards during the Commerce phase?
A :
Yes. 

Q : May you take a card during the trading phase, which just has be exchanged and is face-down?
A :
Non, the cards face-down are acquired. 

Construction phase

Q : May you place an influence adjacent to another influence, which has been placed during the same turn?
A :
No, you have to wait until the next turn (just as constructing in this new province), when the province is considered as under your control. 

Q : At the sea, which spaces are considered as adjacent?
A :
In fact, the best way to define which are adjacent, is to ask yourself "where is it possible to go". An uninterrupted chain of triremes (even if they are placed in spaces, where triremes of another player(s) are situated) permits to place an influence marker at the other side of the Mediterranean Sea. 

Q : Is a province under your control lost if it isn't still adjacent to the rest of your empire.
A :
No, it's not like in the game of Vinci! 

Q : May you decide to destroy one of your own constructions to reconstruct it elsewhere, if you're in lack of resources?
A :
No, just like it's not possible to practise the scorched earth tactic and voluntary destroy something just before the invasion of an opponent. 

Q : What happens if two players win during the same turn?
A :
As soon as one player reaches one of the victory conditions, the game is immediately stopped. This is important, as this is one of the privileges of the Political Leader. However if several players may finish in the same turn and none of them is the Political Leader (and it's he who arbitrary decides who wins!), you may agree either that it's a draw if it's too late and you're tired. Otherwise you continue until one player is a single winner. 

Military phase

Q : May a single navy in a region transport several legions?
A :
Yes. It's enough that 2 provinces are linked with an uninterrupted chain of triremes to be considered as adjacent. 

Q : Does a trireme control a maritime region?
A :
No. It doesn't exist any notion of "controlling zone" in the game. In the sea are the combats not compulsory. A player may bring a trireme in a region, which already is occupied by any opponent, without attacking. The opponent can only react and make a contre-attack during his own turn in the game. 

Q : A trireme, which still hasn't gone into the sea during its construction turn, may it be destroyed, if the province with the trireme is attacked.
A :
No. There is no interaction of any kind between maritime and ground units. The trireme is ignored. 

Q : May a player alternate between movement and combat?
A :
Yes. Every unit may simply only move and attack (in this order) once per turn. The player may organise his movements and his displacements as he wishes.
For example the player may:
- attack a province with units, which originate from several different adjacent provinces in a single combat
- alternatively attack a province with different units
- split up units placed in the same province to attack several adjacent provinces
- attack several opponents, which still are at war in a province, by splitting the troops which he has sent there or just attack one of the opponent and ignore the other one
In reality, this flexibility in the way to deal with Military phase permits the player several choices.
 

Q : The Military Leader and the Political Leader decides the playing order in their respective phase. Should they announce the complete order at the beginning of the phase or do they point out the first player and he make his play and then he points out the second who makes his turn etcetera?
A :
He announces the player after the player before has executed his turn in the phase. 

Q : A 3rd player attacks a province at war where 2 other players already are present. Who does the 3rd player attack? Both player or if it's a single player, which of them?
A :
If you arrive with several units in a province occupied by several players. Every unit has to combat, but you may split your forces in several attacks or put all against the same player. 

Q : In a province at war at the end of the previous turn, is the combat compulsory?
A :
Only if you doesn't move and remains in the occupied province. A fortress may not flee and has to combat. 

Q : What happens if a player just have attacked me in a province, where I have placed my legions to occupy or convert.
A :
There is a combat and every present legion in the province may participate (even if they are placed there for an occupation). If you succeed to remain alone (and if you still have legion(s)!), you may continue to occupy or convert the province. If you don't completely eliminate the attacker, occupation or conversion can not be done, as this isn't possible in a province at war. The sack of the province is less profitable, but is done immediately. 

Q : For whom do the caravans / markets / cities / temples count, when you reassign the roles at the beginning of each turn.
A :
The constructions occupied by an enemy is counted as they belongs to this enemy. 

Q : Player A attacks player B and both have legions left after this attack. Then player B plays after him and flees. May player A sack, occupy or convert the province?
A :
No, you may only sack, occupy or convert the province at the end of the combat and if there isn't any enemy legions left. 

The cards of Heroes and Wonders --

Q : When you buy a Hero or a Wonder. Do you choose it or is it random?
A :
You choose it. 

Q : Are the Civilization Specific Heroes counted towards the 4, which are necessary to win?
A :
Yes. 

Q : Is the victory condition EITHER 4 Heroes OR 4 Wonders OR may mix them 2+2 or 3+1?
A :
Yes, you may mix Heroes and Wonders to reach the victory goal. 

Q : Helene, may she wait until the player looses his 8th legion before he converts the enemy legion, which just has attacked? May she do it at the end of the combat?
A :
In the rules, it is specified "a legion enters one of the provinces" - so, you may only make the legion conversion at the beginning at the arrival and not afterwards. So if the player already has 8 legions, he is busted! 

Q : May Julius Caesar choose the mausoleum as a Wonder and if yes, he only need to pay 1 tax or resource card for his legions ?
A :
For the mausoleum the bonus of -1 is only for certain constructions: cities and caravans cost 2 cards instead of 3, the temple and the market cost 5 cards instead of 6. The bonus isn't applicable for military units, as well as for Heroes and Wonders.

 

Home page Home

This site is created and maintained by: Carl-Gustaf Samuelsson