Das Zepter von Zavandor: FAQ

Translation from the official FAQ at http://www.zavandor.de/

Misprint

Unfortunately with the production of the game a few misprints have occurred.

1)       On the player boards the costs of the jewels are registered under “knowledge of gems”. With the emerald it’s written the value '25' at stage 3;. It should however be '21'.

2)       With the sentinel Scarab the rule of victory points should be: For each active emerald of the player he gets 1 victory point, hence...

3)       On the energy cards are a point missing on those with the numbers of '6' and '9', in order to differentiate these from each other. To identify these you need to consider the back of the card, which are marked in same direction. Maybe you can write a dot at a suitable position.

Terms and clarifications

Because of the transmission of a economic game into a fantasy world some understanding problems have occurred. Therefore the following notes:

1)      ’Enchant gems’ means 'buy gems’.

2)      'Disenchant gems’ means 'sell gems’. To the memory: With the sales one receives only the rounded down half of the current purchase price.

3)      With knowledge stones and/or markers are meant the knowledge markers, of which each player possesses 6. One of the knowledge marker is at the beginning of the play on the knowledge board according to the player character drawn, and the other 5 are placed on the player board, and there on the fields, which are marked with 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40.

4)      With acquisition of a mirror or a camouflage you release one of your knowledge marker, preferably the most expensive, free of charge. You put this on the pentagon together with currently unused gems and may use it in your turn in a new field of knowledge.

5)      In addition with acquisition of a mirror or a camouflage all other players must return one active jewel each of their choice to the supply.

What is the game goal and when is the game ending?

The play is terminated in the round, in which the fifth sentinel is auctioneered. The round is played until the regularly round end, so that among other things also further sentinels may be auctioneered. The player with most points of victory wins.

Questions

Q1: Can I, when paying several things together, add payments or do everything need to be individually paid?
A: One can summarize several things temporarily, which you have bought without effect of the fellow players, when paying. Example: You bought a spell book artefact (20), a knowledge marker (20) and still you would like to enter the knowledge of the 9 ways (3) and you possess exactly 43 energy. You may pay these 43 together. However, if you would like to offer a rune stone in a new auction after the spell book, then you first must have paid the 20 energy for the spell book.
 

Q2: If  I don’t have any more energy left on my hand, and I would like to disenchant 2 opals (70% when knowing about jewels). How much may I get? 7 or 6 magic dust?
A: The enchantment of jewels can be summarized here. You receive 2 times 3 energy, thus altogether 6. But not 7, since each individual jewel has its own value
.  

Q3: If a card deck is nearly used up, and everyone knows that still another good card is in it, then we always come into quarrels, because everyone throws himself on the draw pile. Doesn't it make sense to consider this when drawing cards according to the order of the position cards?
A:
Yes.  

Q4: When does the game end? Exactly when the 5th sentinel is auctioneered?
A:
No. The play ends after the round, in which the 5th sentinel is auctioneered. This means that quite many more than the 5 sentinel can come into the hands of our magician's apprentices.  

Q5: What can I use to pay with?
A: To pay you can
use your energy cards, your magic dust and your concentrated energy. It is possible  to combine them with each another. If you should overpay something, then you may get magic dust as exchange. It is even possible, to pay with your gems (independent whether they are active or inactive) by disenchanting them, so that you can never overbid yourself when bidding on artefacts and sentinels.

Q6: What happens with that magic dust, which cannot be paid due to exchange?
A:
Usually it’s only a remainder of 1 energy. This can in most cases be saved by conversion of an energy card into magic dust. However, if this isn’t possible or intended (due to hand card limits), then this energy disappears without compensation.  

Q7: May you intentionally move active jewels to "inactive", in order to change the play sequence at short notice?
A: No, you may only do it in your turn.  

Q8: May you convert four hand cards into concentrated energy?
A: No.  

Q9: Who selects the jewel, which the victim loses with the purchase of a mirror or a camouflage artefact?  The buyer or the victim?
A: The victim selects the stone himself.  

Q10: Does the Fairy get his sapphire cards already in the first round or only after the first round?
A: Immediately, because in the second round he has possibly already 2 emerald cards, if he has further increased the knowledge in this field during the round.  

Q11: One can often implement each action many times.  But may you only increase knowledge once per round?
A: Correct.  

Q12: Can you pay directly with jewels or do you have to first exchange them to magic dust and then pay?
A: You can pay directly with the jewels.  

Q13:  When you evaluate the sentinel "Phoenix", should also the jewels on "Crystal of Protection" and "Chalice of Fire" artefacts be considered as a kind of jewel?
A: No  

Q14: Do you immediately get the Victory Points from the sentinel or do you only add these at the end of the game?
A: The Victory Points are always counted in phase 4, and there the sentinel Victory Points are applied immediately.  

Q15: Do you have to take “concentrated energy” instead of four single cards or is this optional?
A: You must take “concentrated energy”.

Other clarifications from the forum

- You may only offer an auction of “the Magic Mirror” or “the Cloak of Camouflage”, if you possess at least one active jewel yourself.

- The free diamond you get from “the Elixir”, must be put at the pentagon and may only be put into the spiral when it’s your turn.

- The phases 3a, 3b and 3c may be done in any order, although you may NOT split any of the phases, like selling gems (3a), increase gems knowledge (3b) and then buy gems (3a again).

- “the Fire of Chalice” artefacts are not counted towards the ruby limit of maximum 5.

 

Home page Home

This site is created and maintained by: Carl-Gustaf Samuelsson